DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE

 

Being arrested and convicted of a DUI results in driver license revocation if you have a Kentucky license or suspension of your Kentucky driving privilege if an out of state licensee.  In Kentucky, the specific suspension period is dependent upon the number of DUI offense convicted of with in the last ten years.  The following is a general guide of what may happen for the various offense

  1. First offense within ten years

  2. a.30 to 180 day suspension

  3. b.$200 to $500 fine

  4. c.2 to 30 days in jail

  5. d.Possible 48 hours to 30 days of community labor

  6. e.$250 service fee

  7. f.If aggravating circumstances are present 4 days in jail

  8. g.Complete a DUI assessment with a certified provider

  9. h.Complete mandatory education and or treatment required by assessment.

  10. Second offense within ten years

  11. a.12 to 18 month suspension

  12. b.$350 to $500 fine

  13. c.7 to 180 days in jail

  14. d.Possible 10 to 180 days of community labor

  15. e.$250 service fee

  16. f.If aggravating circumstances are present 14 days in jail

  17. g.Complete a DUI assessment with a certified provider

  18. h.Complete up to one year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment required by assessment.

  19. Third offense within ten years

  20. a. 24 to 36 month suspension

  21. b.$500 to $1000 fine

  22. c.30 to 360 days in jail

  23. d.$250 service fee

  24. e.If aggravating circumstances are present 60 days in jail

  25. f.Complete a DUI assessment with a certified provider

  26. g.Complete one full year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment in a level of care required by assessment.

  27. Fourth and subsequent offenses within ten years

  28. a.Class D Felony

  29. b.Minimum term of 120 days' imprisonment without probation

  30. c.60-month license suspension

  31. d.Complete a DUI assessment with a certified provider

  32. e.Complete one full year of alcohol or substance abuse treatment in a level of care required by assessment.

  33. f.$250 Service Fee

  34. g.If aggravating circumstances are present, 240 days of imprisonment